The ovary is a female reproductive organ that is composed of several structures. These structures include:

Germinal epithelium: This is a layer of squamous cells that covers the surface of the ovary.

Tunica albuginea: This is a dense, fibrous layer that surrounds the ovary and gives it structure and support.

Ovarian cortex: This is the outer layer of the ovary that contains thousands of small follicles, each of which contains an immature egg.

Ovarian medulla: This is the inner layer of the ovary that contains blood vessels, lymphatic vessels, and nerves.

Follicles: These are small sac-like structures located within the ovarian cortex that contain immature eggs. Follicles are the site of oogenesis, the process of producing and maturing eggs.

Corpus luteum: This is a temporary glandular structure that forms from the remnants of a mature follicle after ovulation. The corpus luteum produces hormones that are important for maintaining pregnancy.

Ovarian ligament: This is a fibrous band that attaches the ovary to the uterus.

Ovarian artery and vein: These are the blood vessels that supply and drain blood from the ovary, respectively.

Overall, the structures of the ovary work together to facilitate the processes of oogenesis, ovulation, and hormone production.